My Formosa Kitchen

Feeling experimental, I pulled my box of different flours out from the kitchen cabinet. Delicate plastic bags full of different neutral tones, textures, smells. Amaranth, chickpea, coconut, corn, manioc, potato, white rice. I categorized into whole grains and starches. I converted grams to cups. I calculated the amounts necessary to make the gluten-free flour blend 40% whole grain and 60% starch. I used a little ruler that my coworker got for free from the dentist and a sharpie to eyeball cup markings on a straight, clear drinking glass. Put it all in a pot, stirred, and transferred the now-uniform mixture to a big plastic container that once held ice cream.

Some say baking is a science and cooking is an art, but in my Formosa kitchen I have either gotten very good at estimating or have fully accepted the loss of control over how things will turn out.  

Leave a Reply

