Congratulations, Pt. 1

She had been in labor the entire previous day and night, so I expected there to be a baby by the time I arrived at the hospital for the half-hour long visiting “hours”, diapers and baby clothes in hand. I was wrong. No baby, many contractions. I learned that the mother was losing lots of líquido, though, but didn’t have cotton to soak it up. Because the hospital had run out. I sighed, crossed the street and bought a big pack of cotton that I handed over to her husband. 

2 thoughts on “Congratulations, Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

