What Is Utterly Inexcusable, According To a 5-Year-Old

During our insect unit in kindergarten, we raised silkworms. After some practice taking care of them at school, we were each given a few of the soft gray bodies in a cardboard box to take home. I was particularly optimistic about the prospects of my new charges, since we had a mulberry tree in my backyard. “My silkworms are going to live forever,” I thought to myself, “because I have more mulberry leaves than they could ever eat.”

A few days later I came outside and saw my Dad with piles of cut branches around him, sawing away at the mulberry tree. I couldn’t believe my eyes. “Tata! You are cutting down an entire tree of silkworm food! That’s all that they eat!”

2 thoughts on “What Is Utterly Inexcusable, According To a 5-Year-Old

Leave a Reply

