It Ain’t Worth A Lick

“Do you have 50 cents?” The cashier asked me. I made an apologetic face and muttered no, lo siento. She sighed before pulling the change for my large bill out of the register and handing it over. I looked down at the contents of my hand. A few coins that my fingers and eyes haven’t yet learned the shape of, and a candy pretending to be a slice of lemon. I had heard about this phenomenon of candy as currency when exact change was low. I glanced back at the still-open cash drawer. Lo and behold, one of the compartments was full of cheap sucky candy. Bueno, I thought. When life hands you lemons… eat up.

One thought on “It Ain’t Worth A Lick

  1. Pingback: Swapping Americas | mucho monisia

Leave a Reply

